Halal is a label for food and drink that Muslim allow to consume it because it appropriate to shariah (Islam).
In the opposite of term halal is haram, which is refers to food and drink that are not appropriate to shariah.
As an example for halal and haram, a cow meat is halal for Muslim to consume, but it will become haram if the cow were not slaughtered by the butcher in the name of Allah. If a Muslim consume haram food, he will get sin. ( More … )